Standards & Building Regulations

National Standards Authority of Ireland

The National Standards Authority of Ireland is the official standards and measurements body and can provide detailed help and advice on all aspects of standards and regulations. In addition, it is the national certification body for CE marking. Information on product certification can be found here.


NSAI Agrément Scheme

The NSAI also operates the NSAI Agrément Scheme, awarding certificates to building products, materials and processes to demonstrate that they are safe and fit for purpose. According to the website, “Agrément certification applies to those products and processes that are not already regulated by existing building standards, either because they are innovative or because they deviate from established norms”.

The process of achieving Agrément certification in Ireland principally involves the following steps:

  1. Developing a Technical Assessment Specification (TAS), which sets out the technical criteria for assessment and testing.
  2. Assessing the product to ensure that it conforms to the TAS. This might include laboratory testing, on-site evaluation and inspection of the production process.
  3. Subject to the results of the assessment, a draft NSAI Agrément Certificate is produced

BRE Global (Building Research Establishment)

In 2018, following the UK’s Brexit decision, BRE Global announced that it would be relocating its CE marking activities from the UK to Ireland, opening new offices and new product testing facilities. BRE Global provides support to manufacturers, importers and distributors of construction products with the certifications required for products to be sold in in Ireland and all other EU markets. 

Building Regulations

The building regulations apply to the design and construction of new buildings or extensions, the requirements for which are set out in 12 parts, classified as Parts A to M, as follows:

Part A – Structure
Part B - Fire Safety
Part C - Site Preparation and Resistance to Moisture
Part D - Materials and Workmanship
Part E – Sound
Part F – Ventilation
Part G – Hygiene
Part H - Drainage and Waste Water Disposal
Part J - Heat Producing Appliances
Part K - Stairways, Ladders, Ramps and Guards
Part L - Conservation of Fuel and Energy - Dwellings
Part L - Conservation of Fuel and Energy- Buildings other than Dwellings
Part M - Access and Use

More information can be found via the building regulations section of the website for the Department of Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government here.

Construction Industry Standards & Building Regulations